School students in New South Wales work towards the Higher School Certificate in years 11 and 12. It is the highest level of attainment you can reach at school. To gain a Higher School Certificate, students must have completed a minimum of 12 units of Preliminary courses and 10 units of HSC courses. Students must satisfactorily complete the Preliminary course before they are eligible to commence the continuing HSC course. There are two main types of courses – Board Developed and Board Endorsed.

Board Developed Courses

These are the large number of courses that are set and externally examined by NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) and include courses in the areas of English, Mathematics, Science, Technology, Creative Arts, Personal Development, Health and Physical Education, Human Society and its Environment, Languages and Vocational Education and Training (VET) Curriculum Frameworks. One VET Course may contribute to the calculation of an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR).Read more about the subjects available at the NESA site.

Board Developed Curriculum Framework courses available at Saint Yon Trade Training Centre include: Automotive, Business Services, Construction, Electrotechnology, Information Digital Technology, Hospitality and Metal and Engineering.

Board Endorsed Courses

These include courses that may have been developed by schools, TAFE or universities. They contribute to the HSC but do not contribute to the calculation of the ATAR.

Board Endorsed courses available at Saint Yon Trade Training Centre include: Plumbing and Sport Fitness.

Qualifying for the Higher School Certificate

Students must satisfactorily complete a Preliminary pattern of study comprising at least 12 units and an HSC pattern of study comprising at least 10 units. Both patterns must include:

– at least six units from Board Developed Courses;

– at least two units of a Board Developed Course in English (English Studies Content Endorsed Course satisfies the pattern of study English requirement);

– at least three courses of two units value or greater (either Board Developed or Board Endorsed Courses);

at least four subjects;

–a maximum of six units from courses in Science in each study pattern.